Ask a Question

Is the runner out or safe?

0 votes
one out and runner at third.  A fly ball is hit to deep left and the left fielder gets under the ball to make the catch.  The ball hits in his glove and pops out but he catches it in his bare hand before it hits the ground.  The hitter is out, but the runner tagged up when the ball hit the glove and heads home.  After the fielder makes the play on the popped out of his glove ball, he throws the ball to third and the umpire calls the runner out because he left third before the ball was actually caught.  The argument is that the runner may leave when the fielder touches the ball regardless if he makes the catch or not.  The umpire stayed with the out call at third.  What is the correct answer?
asked Apr 6, 2014 in Baseball by Clarence
   

1 Answer

0 votes
The umpire made the correct call.  If the fielder would have dropped the ball to the ground after it hit his glove, the hitter would have been safe.  The fielder never fully had complete control of the baseball until he caught it with his barehand.  So, yes, the runner at third is out.
answered May 27, 2014 by Tb

Categories

ExplainPlease on Facebook

74,547 questions

48,603 answers

1,108 comments

76,204 users

CuriousGirl169,990
BobTheAnswerGuy124,230
smartguy111,120
charlie100,740
bbrown97,580
answerwiz94,860
The.Sage93,460
amanda0192,460
kfox83,500
lsmith82,840
...