Ask a Question

can you steal a base if batter tips ball an cought on first strike

+3 votes
asked Jun 11, 2013 in Baseball by anonymous
   

2 Answers

+2 votes
There is nothing "FOUL" about a foul-tip. It is a strike and the ball is alive. A foul-tip is the same as a swing and a miss. To be a foul-tip, by rule, the ball must go sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hand or glove AND BE CAUGHT. Confusion arises on this because people commonly call any ball that is tipped or nicked a foul-tip. It is not a foul-tip, by rule, unless the nicked or tipped ball is caught. If it is not caught, it is simply a foul-ball. A foul-ball is a dead ball. A foul-tip (a legally caught nick) is a live ball strike, just like a swing and a miss. Read the rule in the Official Baseball Rules
answered Jun 13, 2013 by mfranks Inquisitive Expert (39,740 points)
+6 votes

yes you can! 

answered Jun 21, 2013 by anonymous

Categories

ExplainPlease on Facebook

75,014 questions

48,872 answers

1,169 comments

82,472 users

CuriousGirl313,480
BobTheAnswerGuy310,070
smartguy111,120
charlie100,740
bbrown97,580
answerwiz94,860
The.Sage93,460
amanda0192,460
kfox83,500
lsmith82,840
...